Week 12 and 13: MVC, Ruby on Rails

Incoming stream of consciousness:

1/24-1/31

Didn’t do bitbucket. Skipped a bit of Git stuff. Rails is interesting though. I understand how MVC is the foundation. Should I memorize the directories in order? Maybe another day. The command line is so helpful. Do I even need a mouse? I want to connect a separate monitor on my laptop, so I can keep a bunch of terminals open.

Trying to make a more solid studying schedule. Separate actual studying, to personal project, and projects for TOP. I just don’t want to spend a lot of time on something. I’d rather work on it a little, do other stuff, then go back to it. I learned that keeping my mind off of it helps me solve problems better.

Read this article about which is better. Github or bitbucket. I don’t need a private repo right now, so i’ll stick with github.

7

Screenshot of RSpec project

2/1-2/7

Finished the website and made it live! Fun stuff!

Finished Ruby TDD finally. Still not that comfortable with Ruby compared to html/css/JS. Oh well, at least I finished it. And I learned new stuff like the string format operator, ternary operators, and more on MVC.

I began to make a list of sites I want to make, including one with a pomodoro clock. Turns out hat’s part of the curriculum. Yay!

Started studying Ruby on Rails. As I said before it’s interesting. But the syntax is something I need to get used to. Some parts of it looks like html and Ruby combined. And it’s a lot of opening files and making sure this is connected to that. Maybe I should get more familiar with that MVC directory list. Reading the Ruby on Railes Guide: Getting Started was really confusing. I understand some parts, but it was like someone was pulling me in different directions. How will I do the upcoming project when it took me forever to finish the last project?

I read a blog under additional resources and the author said he studied RoR 18 hours a day in two months! That’s insane! Which is why I should do that, but maybe with less hours. Is 18 hours even possible though? Maybe I should try six hours? Wow, I guess I’ll have less leisure time. I’ll try it anyway and see how long I last and if I can push it even more. However, I’m glad to read those types of blogs because they increase my motivation.

Leave a Reply

