Week 9: Ruby, First Client Project, WordPress

1/4     I was having trouble with the testing project, so I decided to brush up on Ruby through Codecademy. Apparently, they’re updating the course this summer of 2017, so I’d have to finish it by then. I hope to finish the course tomorrow. But I wish they made a course about RSpec!

I saw a Ruby meetup in downtown DC and wanted to join. I have a ton of excuses of why I shouldn’t go, but I should right? 

1/7     Looked at web developers resumes and portfolios. I sure do have a long way to go. And I saw incredible portfolios with amazing credentials. I actually got overwhelmed, but I know enough to not compare myself to others. All I know is that I enjoy coding. My eyes are starting to fail though…

Still doing the Ruby course. My understanding is getting better. Maybe I just didn’t pay attention when I learned it the first time? I think the syntax was just throwing me off a little bit.

1/8-1/10     I reached out to someone about possibly making a website for his martial arts gym for free. I think it’s a good idea to do work for free to build my resume/portfolio. I had the expectation that I was going to make it from scratch, so I got really excited. Maybe I would even use Bootstrap if there’s a tight deadline. But he told me he already had a WordPress website and he’d like me to help him fix it. I felt less enthusiastic when I found out. Then I realized WordPress uses PHP, so I’d need to study a little bit about that too.

Nonetheless, I was panic-stricken about all the things needed to be changed. I wanted to change major things, like layout, color scheme, maybe add some animation through JS. Basically, completely change the website. All within the constraints of the theme I’m using and the WordPress system itself.

desktopscreenshotweek9

Screenshot of the website I’m working on

But I had to think rationally. This is not the time to show everything I know about web development into one website. This is about the owner’s business and his passion. For the most part, he gave me freedom to do whatever I want with the website and I’m so grateful for that. I don’t know how he could trust me so well, knowing so little about me.

Most of the content was already written down, so there is less work for me. It reminded me of the days when I was a content writer for a local small business. Man, I wrote so slow then. Anyway, once the panic has settled down, I made an ordered list of what I needed to do until the next consultation with the client. Things got a lot easier then and I started to get into my zone. Turns out I know a lot more than I think I do. I also learned the importance of taking breaks in between. If I don’t put a timer on, I would be sitting for the whole day and would only realize it’s time to stop when it has gotten dark.

It’s really nice, though, to have studied so many things and to see how far I’ve progressed. I can only imagine what fun things I get to do — once I finally finish Web Development 101 and move on to focus on Ruby, ROR, etc.

And I customize as much as I can with the CSS editor and with the help of devtools. I tried editing the CSS file for the theme itself, but it’s not affecting the site itself. I haven’t had the opportunity to play around with PHP, but I’ll accept the challenge when I get there.

Lessons this week:

  1. Reach out for potential clients.
  2. I love devtools. I’d move in with devtools and start a farm in the backyard with it.
Leave a Reply

